Profile

Michael Kutryb

Kutryb Eye Institute

Contact Details

Kutryb Eye Institute
Ribbons
Bronze MVM
Silver MVM
Gold MVM
Platinum MVM
Spotlight Member Sept. 2015

Bio

I was born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri and most of my family still lives there. I went to undergrad at St. Louis University and medical school at the University of Missouri-Columbia. I did my internship and residency at the Ochsner Clinic in New Orleans, where they sent us all over the place to different hospitals in Louisiana and Alabama and we got to know the LSU and Tulane residents very well. I was lured down to Florida by my wife Laura, who is from Miami and thinks anywhere north of Orlando is too cold.

After stints as an associate at several practices, I opened my own practice in 2006 in Edgewater, Florida and never looked back. My practice is basically comprehensive in nature with an emphasis on cataract surgery and glaucoma. I opened a second office in Titusville in 2008 and brought on an optometrist. I hope to add a second ophthalmologist within the next year. I love toric IOL's and I am intrigued and a little disappointed by the crystalens. I am not a big fan of multifocals. I used to love to do Lasik, but now, at my own practice, I cannot currently afford the costs of running a laser center. Like most ASCRS members, I am passionate about my work and I'm always trying to learn new things every day. I'm particularly interested in practice management, particularly strategic planning. I basically run the entire practice, though I do have an assistant now. I like participating in the online discussions whenever possible, so I can learn from my collegues. It is a great benefit.

On the personal side, my wife and I have girls age 8.10. and 12. Everyone plays golf and tennis and the girls are already ranked tennis players. I like to take my family with me when we go to the big eye meetings. Right now my priorities (other than constantly improving my practice) are spending time with my family and raising the girls properly. I plan on taking an extended vacation (someday) to explore my roots in Poland and Croatia.